21 new nuclear reactors expected by 2031: DAE

The Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) informed Parliament on Thursday that 21 new nuclear power reactors with a total installed capacity of 15,700 MW are expected to be set up in the country by 2031.

It also informed Parliament that five sites —  which would have total 28 nuclear reactors — have been accorded 'in principle' approval by the central government.

Jitendra Singh, minister of state for personnel, public grievances and pensions and prime minister's office (PMO), told Rajya Sabha through a written answer that at present, there are nine nuclear power reactors at various stages of construction that are targeted for completion by 2024-25. “In addition, 12 more nuclear power reactors have been accorded administrative approval and financial sanction by the government in June 2017,” he added.

Singh handles the DAE, which comes under the PMO.

“Thus, 21 nuclear power reactors, with an installed capacity of 15,700 MW are under implementation, envisaged for progressive completion by the year 2031,” he added.

Gujarat, Rajasthan and Haryana each has two reactors under construction currently. Tamil Nadu has three reactors under construction, according to Singh.

Each of the five states -- Haryana, Rajasthan, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh and Tamil Nadu — have been accorded administrative approval and financial sanction to establish two nuclear reactors, Singh told Rajya Sabha.

Jaitapur in Maharashtra, Kovvada in Andhra Pradesh, Chhaya Mithi Virdi in Gujarat, Haripur in West Bengal and Bhimpur in Madhya Pradesh are the five sites that have been accorded ‘in principle’ approval to establish nuclear reactors, Singh stated.