TDP ministers resign, to remain in NDA

Two TDP ministers in the BJP-led NDA government, Ashok Gajapathi Raju and YS Chowdary, submitted their resignations to prime minister Narendra Modi soon after he had a telephonic conversation with Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu on Wednesday evening. Raju later told reporters that his party will continue to part of the ruling alliance.

Raju was civil aviation minister and Chowdary minister of state for science and technology in the cabinet. Their resignations came a day after TDP chief Naidu announced that the party’s ministers will quit the central government in protest against its refusal to grant special category status to the state.

As a result of the fallout, the BJP also decided to pull out of the coalition government in Andhra Pradesh with Health minister Kamineni Srinivas and Endowments minister P Manikyala Rao in the state Cabinet submitting their resignations to the chief minister.

Chowdary said the issue of special category status was very emotive for the state but the Centre did not address it and added that even the special package was not adequate. He, however, said it would be unfair to say that the Centre did nothing for the state.

Asked about Congress president Rahul Gandhi’s promise to give special status to Andhra Pradesh if the party came to power, he said it was a hypothetical situation.

The TDP has 16 MPs in the Lok Sabha.