Israel announces 7 hour humanitarian truce in Gaza: Army

Tags: News
Israel will hold its fire in most of the Gaza Strip for a seven-hour "humanitarian window" today, the military said, four weeks into its bloody conflict with Hamas.

According to an army statement, the ceasefire will take place between 0700 GMT (1230 IST) and 1400 GMT (1930 IST) in all of the Palestinian enclave besides the area east of southern city Rafah, "where clashes were still ongoing and there was Israeli military presence."

Head of the Israeli military activities in the occupied West Bank and Gaza, General Yoav Mordechai, warned in the statement that "if the truce will be violated, the army will respond with fire toward the source of the (Palestinian) fire during the declared hudna," or truce.

Mordechai also called on residents of Abasan al Kabira and Abasan al Saghira, two villages east of Khan Yunis in southern Gaza, to return to their homes beginning 0500 GMT (1030 IST) today.

Post new comment

E-mail ID will not be published
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Image CAPTCHA
Copy the characters (respecting upper/lower case) from the image.

EDITORIAL OF THE DAY

  • India would have done well not to supress the 'Bofors interview'

    Bofors is one case that refuses to go away two-and-half decades after it grabbed public attention and became a byword for political corruption, claimi

FC NEWSLETTER

Stay informed on our latest news!

INTERVIEWS

Sarthak Raychaudhuri

vice-president, HR, Asia South Whirlpool of India

GV Nageswara Rao

MD & CEO, IDBI Federal Life

Timothy Moe

Goldman Sachs

TODAY'S COLUMNS

Varun Dutt

THE BLAME GAME

In decision-making, the fundamental attribution error (FAE), also known as ...

Zehra Naqvi

Dignity of labour is dignity of life

M Rafi Khan, a retired police IG, used to ...

Gautam Gupta

Retailers have it tough, thanks to e-commerce

For the past few months our focus has been on ...

INTERVIEWS

William D. Green

Chairman & CEO, Accenture